About the AACR

Founded in 1907, the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) is the world’s first and largest professional organization dedicated to advancing cancer research and its mission to prevent and cure cancer. AACR membership includes 48,000 laboratory, translational, and clinical researchers; population scientists; other health care professionals; and patient advocates residing in 127 countries. The AACR marshals the full spectrum of expertise of the cancer community to accelerate progress in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of cancer by annually convening more than 30 conferences and educational workshops—the largest of which is the AACR Annual Meeting, with more than 74,000 attendees for the 2020 virtual meetings and more than 22,500 attendees for past in-person meetings. In addition, the AACR publishes nine prestigious, peer-reviewed scientific journals and a magazine for cancer survivors, patients, and their caregivers. The AACR funds meritorious research directly as well as in cooperation with numerous cancer organizations. As the Scientific Partner of Stand Up To Cancer, the AACR provides expert peer review, grants administration, and scientific oversight of team science and individual investigator grants in cancer research that have the potential for near-term patient benefit. The AACR actively communicates with legislators and other policymakers about the value of cancer research and related biomedical science in saving lives from cancer. For more information about the AACR, visit www.AACR.org.

AACR Officers

David A. Tuveson, MD, PhD, FAACR
Director and Roy J. Zuckerberg Professor of Cancer Research, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Cancer Center, Cold Spring Harbor, New York

Lisa M. Coussens, PhD, FAACR
Hildegard Lamfrom Endowed Chair in Basic Science Chair, Department of Cell, Developmental and Cancer Biology Associate Director for Basic Research OHSU Knight Cancer Institute Oregon Health and Science University School of Medicine Portland, Oregon

William N. Hait, MD, PhD, FAACR (2019-2022)
Global Head, External Innovation,
Johnson & Johnson, New Brunswick, New Jerse

Past President
Antoni Ribas, MD, PhD, FAACR (2020-2021)
Professor, Medicine, Surgery, and Molecular and Medical Pharmacology, Director, Tumor Immunology Program, Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of California Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California

Chief Executive Officer
Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc)
American Association for Cancer Research, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

AACR Directors

Adriana Albini, PhD (2018-2021)
Scientific Director, Fondazione MultiMedica Onlus, IRCCS MultiMedica SpA, Milano, Italy

Scott A. Armstrong, MD, PhD (2020-2021)
Chair, Department of Pediatric Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; David G. Nathan Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts

René Bernards, PhD, FAACR (2018-2021)
Senior Staff Scientist, Division of Molecular Carcinogenesis, The Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Marcia R. Cruz-Correa, MD, PhD (2019-2022)
Professor, Medicine, Biology, and Oncology, University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Campus, Executive Director, University of Puerto Rico Comprehensive Cancer Center, Gastrointestinal Oncology Program Director, Isaac Gonzalez Martinez Oncologic Hospital, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Keith T. Flaherty, MD (2019-2022)
Director of Clinical Research, Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center, Boston, Massachusetts

Silvia Chiara Formenti, MD (2020-2023)
Sandra and Edward Meyer Professor of Cancer Research, Professor and Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology, Weill Cornell Medicine, Associate Director, Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center, Radiation Oncologist-in-Chief, New York Presbyterian Hospital, New York, New York

Elaine Fuchs, PhD, FAACR (2020-2023)
Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, The Rockefeller University, New York, New York

Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD (2020-2023)
Ensign Professor of Medicine and Chief of Medical Oncology, Yale Cancer Center and Smilow Cancer Hospital, New Haven, Connecticut

Carl H. June, MD, FAACR (2018-2021)
Richard W. Vague Professor in Immunotherapy, Director, Center for Cellular Immunotherapies, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Karen E. Knudsen, PhD (2019-2022)
Executive Vice President, Oncology Services, Enterprise Director, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, Chair and Hilary Koprowski Endowed Professor, Cancer Biology, Professor, Cancer Biology, Urology, Radiation Oncology, and Medical Oncology, Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Edison T. Liu, MD (2018-2021)
President and CEO, The Jackson Laboratory, Director, JAX Cancer Center, Bar Harbor, Maine

Ira Mellman, PhD (2020-2023)
Vice President, Cancer Immunology, Genentech, Inc., South San Francisco, California

Martine F. Roussel, PhD (2019-2022) 
Member, St. Jude Faculty, Endowed Chair in Molecular Oncogenesis, Co-Leader, Cancer Biology Cancer Center Program, Department of Tumor Cell Biology, Danny Thomas Research Center, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, Tennessee

Charles Swanton, MB, PhD, FRCP, FMedSci (2019-2022)
Royal Society Napier Professor, The Francis Crick Institute and UCL Cancer Institute, Cancer Evolution and Genome Instability Lab, London, England

Suzanne L. Topalian, MD (2020-2023)
Professor of Surgery and Oncology, Associate Director, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg-Kimmel Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy, Baltimore, Maryland

Leading Discoveries

American Association for Cancer Research
615 Chestnut Street, 17th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404
215-440-9300    AACR.org

Kevin McLaughlin

Associate Editor
Bradley Jones

Art Direction and Design
Jenna Bachen, Heather Clark

AACR Foundation
Erin O’Connell

Science Writing
Sue Rochman

Digital Edition
Colleen Brand, Jonathan Davis, Josh Goldstein

Leading Discoveries ©2020 American Association for Cancer Research