AACR Fellows Are Nobel Laureates

Emmanuelle Charpentier, PhD (left), and Jennifer A. Doudna, PhD (right), both Fellows of the AACR Academy since 2017, were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2020. Dr. Charpentier, of the Max Planck Unit for the Science of Pathogens in Berlin, and Dr. Doudna, of the University of California, Berkeley,  were cited for the development of the CRISPR-Cas9 genome-editing system, which allows researchers to accurately delete, add, or modify specific regions of the genome.